In Illinois, possession of a controlled substance is a criminal offense. The severity of the charge and the corresponding penalty depend on the type and amount of the controlled substance involved.
Possession of a controlled substance is a Class 4 felony if the substance is a Schedule I or II narcotic drug, such as heroin, cocaine, or fentanyl, and the amount is less than 15 grams. This carries a prison sentence of 1-3 years and fines up to $25,000.
Possession of a controlled substance is a Class 3 felony if the substance is a Schedule I or II narcotic drug, and the amount is 15 grams or more. This carries a prison sentence of 2-5 years and fines up to $25,000.
Possession of a controlled substance is a Class A misdemeanor if the substance is not a narcotic drug and is listed in Schedules III, IV, or V. This carries a maximum sentence of up to one year in jail and fines up to $2,500.
It’s important to note that these are the general guidelines and there are many factors that could affect the sentencing such as the offender’s prior criminal history, if the possession was for personal use or sale and if the possession was in a school zone or park district.
It’s important to consult with an attorney if you have been charged with possession of a controlled substance in Illinois, as they can guide you through the legal process and work to mitigate the consequences of your charges.
Louis M. Pissios
Attorneys and Counselors at Law
a professional corporation
9 South County Street
across the street from the courthouse
Waukegan, Illinois 60085
direct email: [email protected]
Direct Telephone 847.263.0001